‘B’ is for Burglar- Chapter 8

Posted: May 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

charred-

recollect-

Summary: (What they said, summarized.) Mr. Snyder returned to the living room and sat down heavily on the couch. “Now then.” “What can you tell me about that fire next door?” I asked. “I saw the place. It looks awful.” He nodded, preparing himself as though for a television interview, staring straight ahead. “Well now, the fire engine woke me up ten o’clock at night. Two of ’em. I don’t sleep good anyhow and I heard the siren come right up here close so I got up and went out. Neighbors was runnin’ from ever’ which way. Black smoke outen that house like you never saw. These firemen, they bashed their way in and pretty soon flames et up the front porch. Whole backside got saved. They found Marty, that was Leonard’s wife, layin’ on the floor. It’d be right about over there,” he said, pointing toward the front door.  He was out to dinner with his sister as I hear tell and he comes home to find his own wife dead. His knees give out and down he went. Right on the sidewalk with me standin’ not this far away. Turned white and dropped like a big hand had given him a thump and knocked him out. It was the awfullest thing you ever saw. They brought her out zipped up in a plastic sack-” “How’d Tillie happen to see her?” I interrupted. “I mean, if she was zipped up in a body bag?”

Main Characters: Mr. Snyder, Marty, Leonard, Mr. Grice,

Setting:  The setting in this chapter hasn’t changed much from the other chapters. They are still investigating the bank, so that’s where they are spending most of their time. They have got some fingerprints of possible suspects, and they also have DNA. The DNA and fingerprints both lead to the same person, so that’s who they are trying to find and are wanting to ask him some questions asap.

Favorite Quote: “Nobody. I’m talkin’ to myself,”

Leave a comment